Well hello !

Ok, let’s go ! This is my first post so I better introduce myself and explain the idea behind this blog. I’ve been a chemistry teacher now for 12 years – I know chemistry, who would actually choose to teach this subject ! Well, that’s what I want this blog to be about – the absolute joy of this subject, the awe it can leave you in and the fear that if you don’t do your job properly another generation will not get it ( how many chemistry teachers have sat at a parents meeting to the hushed opening line ‘ I just never understood chemistry’ as if it was an incurable genetic condition )

So how am I going to structure this journey – I am a full time teacher so I plan to blog two/three times a week and I’m going to see this as my homework. It’s going to make me read more, search out interesting facts and share some of the bits and pieces I’ve picked up on the way.

Who is this blog for – well there is the question ! For me first of all to have a forum to share my love of chemistry, for anyone sitting in a class struggling to see why chemistry is relevant, to other teachers ( I’ll try to link things to the curriculum where I can) and for anyone who wishes to take the journey – remember old chemists never die they just fail to react !

I love a good quote so I’ll leave you with one from the great Nobel prize winning chemist Linus Pauling ‘ every aspect of the world today – even politics and international relations – is made of chemistry’

5 thoughts on “Well hello !

  1. I love it!!!!
    As the daughter of a chemist who loved his subject and loved to share it with others I will be an avid follower….having said that as I’ve told you already I would like to see a bit of fashion in there too just to balance things up….get it?balance that equation????ok I’ll stick to sums and shopping!!!!
    Great idea and happy writing x

    Like

  2. I’m finally getting round to reading Tona, and just wanted to say how brilliantly written your posts are! I am a bit clueless when it comes to Chemistry, but there are so many interesting things here. I can see this being an amazing resource for pupils and teachers alike!

    Like

Leave a Reply

